Reviews

"Amazing and Supportive Attorney! Attorney Schott did an amazing job as my legal counsel, she knew what to do and what to expect in person and in the courtroom as well. I would recommend her to anyone in need of an attorney no matter what their legal needs are. Thank you Shannon for your professional guidance."

Marie

May 1, 2017

"Great lawyer! Mrs Schott was a great lawyer very efficient and she really cared and took her time on my husbands case..."

Amber Hall

March 1, 2016

"Incredible representation! Shannon is an incredible lawyer. Incredibly smart, organized, efficient, and kind. She handled everything I needed and then some. I would, and do, recommend her to everyone I know."

Jennifer

October 13, 2014

"Great experience with a top rate attorney! As a lawyer myself, I have worked with many attorneys in Florida and across the U.S. Plata Schott was incredibly helpful in my recent legal case. I have little experience with family law and was confident that Plata Schott was handling my case as a matter of importance and expediency. I appreciated being informed at every stage of the process. Shannon Schott was incredibly responsive and professional. She made me feel like any question I asked would be answered swiftly and after diligent investigation into the legal specifics. Shannon also liaised with the courts and sheriff's office to make sure all aspects of my case were handled appropriately. I would definitely recommend Plata Schott and am grateful to have had them as my attorneys in this matter."

Sarah

October 9, 2014

"True Iifesaver! Belkis is a personable lawyer who truly cares for you as a client, your family and your overall welfare even after your case has been completed. We appreciated how she always kept us updated and informed throughout the various stages of our case. She was always available to answer all our questions and is very knowledgeable. Belkis is really honest, experienced lawyer and compassionate professional. If you are looking for an AMAZING advocate and experienced criminal defense lawyer, we would highly recommend her and her firm without any reservations."

Anonymous

July 5, 2017

"Excellent Advocate for Stalking Victims! Ms. Plata helped me during a very difficult, sensitive case where I was a stalking victim in an injunction hearing. Ms. Plata understood the complexities of the hearing where I was required to sit across from my stalker and directly confront him, and made the process as easy as possible. I was very lucky to have such an empathetic attorney on my side and the permanent injunction was granted."

Anonymous

June 27, 2017

"Very knowledgeable and professional! I was very pleased by the way my sons case was handled by Mrs. Plata. She was very knowledgeable and made this process easy for me to understand and eased my stress. I have raved about her performance and would highly recommend her to my family and friends."

Anonymous

May 17, 2017

"Mrs. Plata's Excellent and Professional Services! I have only excellent things to say about my experience with Mrs. Belkis Christine Plata. From the start of my legal situation Mrs. Plata made me feel extremely confident. Mrs. Plata exemplified professionalism at all times, communicated with me every step, and worked tirelessly to resolve my case. I highly recommend the services. My case was resolved successfully and I am able to move forward with my head held high and my reputation in tact thanks to Mrs. Plata and the Legal team."

Kevin

March 22, 2017

"My experience with Ms. Plata! End of October I was arrested for possession, possession with intent, possession of a firearm and possession of paraphernalia.... I hired ms plata to take my case and she was able to get everything drop and adjudication withheld wit no jail time even tho the state wanted me to do jail time.... thanks to her hard work I walked free... I would recommend her to any and everyone.... I really don't know what i would have done without her service.... from this point on she will be my attorney for life.... BELKIS PLATA IS THE BEST AND THEN SOME...."

Leroy

March 22, 2017

"She saved my life... I don't know if I can put this into words but I'll do my best. Belkis Plata saved my life. I was attacked by a man from behind and the state felt like I was not in my right to defend myself. I was eventually charged with 2nd degree attempted murder, which could have landed me 30 years. Ms. Plata came into my case on the tail end and at a very low point. She was like a pit bull and would not let go of things when she learned that the state had been withholding evidence that initially made the judge turn down my first plea of "Stand Your Ground". With this new found evidence she convinced the judge to grant another Stand Your Ground hearing. With tenacity and intelligence she won my case and gave me the chance to raise my children and marry the love of my life. There is hands down no better Attorney in Jacksonville or the State Of Florida as far as I'm concerned. I could never truly put into words to explain how I really feel. Only thing that comes to mind is "she saved my life". So on September 15, 2014 when the Honorable Judge Adrian Soud dismissed my case on the basis of stand your ground which was the first time he had ever done so, my life began and a huge weight was lifted from my shoulders and I could breathe easy again. I whole heartily believe that if not for Belkis Plata's relentless efforts I would not be a free man right now. So thank you Ms. Plata for never giving up on me. God Bless you. This review is from a person who hired this attorney."

Leonard Shawn Dillard

September 20, 2015

"Within weeks of hiring Ms. Plata, my boyfriend's case was dismissed. He had a outstanding charge from 2012 that he was unaware of until he began coaching in Fall 2016. Her office was very informative and were even available to answer our calls and concerns during time frames that were convenient to our work schedules. Her office handled every aspect of his case professional and with respect. We never had to step foot into a courtroom. We could not have asked for a better law firm to have hired."

Anonymous

January 2, 2017

"I COULD NOT BE HAPPIER!!! I consider Belkis the BEST lawyer in Jacksonville, she handled my brother's case like it was her own, she is very courteous, respectful and on top of everything she is bilingual, i highly recommend her, if you need your problem to be resolved fast, she is the one you need! i owe her my life."

Andres

July 29, 2015

"Amazing Attorney, Confident, Professional! I came to the Plata, Schott law firm scared, frustrated with no direction to go, Attorney De Armas met with me, calmed me down, gave me direction on how things would go, told me what to do and how to do it. I emailed Marvin when I was frustrated, had anxiety, scared, and he responded immediately with an answer and his phone number to call and vent my concerns with him. Attorney De Armas was very professional in and out of the court room. He has continued to keep me informed on every Notice as well as checking on my progress, I would recommend Attorney De Armas to take care of any situation someone may need an Attorney for."

Marie

May 5, 2017

"Expungement! We hired Marvin to assist us in getting a case expunged. Marvin was very clear and detailed in explaining the process. He called monthly to give me an update. Overall I would say the Marvin is a very professional lawyer. I am glad that we hired him to handle this for us!"

Anonymous

May 2, 2017

"Divorce Case! Marvin was great to work with. All my questions and concerns were always answered completely and he always made sure I understood everything about my case."

Anonymous

April 25, 2017

"Great lawyer! Marvin is an excellent attorney who helped me with my settlement. He is very knowledgeable and made sure I understood all aspects of my personal injury case."


Brando

January 20, 2017

I worked with Plata Schott on a recent small business issue. I was incredibly impressed with the professionalism and quick attention to my concerns. Having such a great team to help me resolve my legal issues made life as a small business owner so much easier. It was a quick and painless process, thanks to them. I will definitely be consulting with them on a l all future issues that arise.

Kerrie Rourke Hileman

Shannon Schott was a great lawyer I will tell anyone and everyone about the firm.. Thanks for the great work on my husbands case...

Amber Hall

I think it is absolutely wonderful what you are doing in regards to the stunt the Duval County Clerk of Courts is pulling. Even though I don't live in Jacksonville anymore, THANK YOU!

Barry Bears Pittman

Heard what you guys have done to allow gay couples to marry. Fantastic!

Hazel Stephens

Exceptional, Ethical and ground breaking work! Thanks guys!

Shannon Maleificent

Got my money!
Ms. Plata helped me with my car accident. She and her attorneys were able to get me everyone dollar available to me. She was always available to talk to me and answer my questions. Highly recommend.

anonymous

January 4, 2017

Timely.
Within weeks of hiring Ms. Plata, my boyfriend's case was dismissed. He had a outstanding charge from 2012 that he was unaware of until he began coaching in Fall 2016. Her office was very informative and were even available to answer our calls and concerns during time frames that were convenient to our work schedules. Her office handled every aspect of his case professional and with...

anonymous

January 2, 2017

Found out i had a warrent for battery that was a year old.Contacted her about my case she jumped right on it and started working before i gave her a dime. Hired her and she got my case dropped. She's very professional understanding easy to contact and is always giving the best advice.

Russel R.

September 27, 2016

Excellent Attorney
Ms. Belkis had the charges lessened on an employee of mine. She was very attentive and timely responsive. I would definitely use her again if necessary and will recommend her to others.

Luis

August 26, 2016

Beautifully Amazing!
Belkis is an outstanding attorney! She is beyond caring and attentive. She handled my husband's case very professionally and kept up with me throughout the entire process and went far and beyond to help my family during these hard times! She had some difficulties with the States Attorney and even immigration but she worked hard to make sure my husband was treated fairly.

Raven

August 25, 2016

Was arrested the day before my college graduation. Belkis got me out hours later on an ROR. When your in trouble with the law, it is extremely important to have a knowledgeable attorney represent you. Belkis is a professional attorney that takes the time to prepare the and strategy to win your case! I felt confident in Belkis as he was always prepared and organized.

anonymous

July 15, 2016

Saved my son!
Angela's office wanted to prosecute my 14 year old son as an adult for a sex crime. Ms. Plata went to bat for my son every step of the way. She worked day and night, and would not give up on him or my family. After several months she was able to convince the state that my son was worthy of saving.

Jackson

May 19, 2016

Top Notch Attorney
This group of female attorneys really know their stuff! I came to them at a very desperate time and they did everything they could to show me compassion. They tackled my case from the start with no hesitations. I was informed of everything that was going on from start to finish and never left in the dark. These ladies are fierce and will stop at nothing to win their case.

anonymous

April 21, 2016

She was great.
She keep us up to date in all the case details and was open and available for all questions and concerns. She is an awesome person was a blessing to us.

Jose and Dahlila Burgos 

April 20, 2016

AVVO reviews don't lie
We have hired Belkis after reading reviews about her work on AVVO and were completely satisfied with the results of the case. What really set her apart from other attorneys we met with was her great interpersonal skills and ability to break down the case into different scenarios and walk through every option providing each outcome's benefits and drawbacks.


anonymous

April 20, 2016

More than an Attorney
Belkis Plata was genuine in her interest not only in my case but me as a person and really getting to know about me which helped my case. Every call and email was responded to immediately. Belkis answered all of my questions and let me know of the multiple options I had. I couldn't be more grateful to her for her honesty, sincerity, and professionalism. Hopefully I never need a lawyer again...

Christopher

April 8, 2016

She saved my life...
I don't know if I can put this into words but I'll do my best. Belkis Plata saved my life. I was attacked by a man from behind and the state felt like I was not in my right to defend myself. I was eventually charged with 2nd degree attempted murder, which could have landed me 30 years. Ms. Plata came into my case on the tail end and at a very low point. She was like a pit bull and would not let go...

Leonard Shawn Dillard 

September 20, 2015

Speedy and affordable
I am very greatful for all the guidance and help I received while evicting a tenant that was a true nightmare for me. Ms. Plata was able to get the tenants out in less than half of the time it would have taken me. That headache for me is now over all thanks to her help. I will be using her services from here on out. Defiantly the greatest attorney I've had the pleasure of hiring.

Liz

July 30, 2015

Best attorney and most honest lawyer you could ask for
Ms. Plata handled my criminal case with professionalism and honesty, not only getting me out of jail with a great deal but representing me like one of her family members and staying in top of everything, very responsible, I highly recommend Ms. Plata best lawyer you can find in Jacksonville Florida.

Julian

July 29, 2015

I consider Belkis the BEST lawyer in Jacksonville, she handled my brother's case like it was her own, she is very courteous, respectful and on top of everything she is bilingual, i highly recommend her, if you need your problem to be resolved fast, she is the one you need! i owe her my life.

Andres 

July 29, 2015

A Lawyer You Can Trust
I had a bad few years. I am a military vet who had never been in trouble. I was arrested for defending my daughter who was sexually assaulted by a family friend when she was 4. I went to court pled guilty and was sentenced to 5 years probation. I paid all my fees within two years and completed all my obligations required by the state.

Anthony

June 10, 2015

When I was first introduced to this office it look so upscale and clean and everyone was so pleasent, first impression was SUPER AWESOME, and they were so informative and helpworthy.

Erika

March 11, 2015

Ms. Plata did an outstanding job of making me feel comfortable and making sure that I was kept aware of all aspects of my case.

anonymous

March 4, 2015

"The BEST Family Attorney! Belkis Plata is extremely professional and knowledgeable. She recently helped us and I could not be more satisfied. She does not back down and does not settle for anything less than getting the truth and best final outcome."

Carol

November 12, 2015

Amazing communication, courteous, helpful (explained a course that I should complete), and was successful in helping me get my license back. I also didn't have to miss work to go to court. Belkis is a great choice if you if you are looking for someone who cares about you and about getting the results you hope for.

anonymous

October 22, 2014

Both went above and beyond for me. They were by my side every step of the way. All of my calls were returned within minutes of me calling. Answered all questions i had. Got both of my charges dropped. I couldn't have asked for better people to have on my side

Holly

October 10, 2014

Great attorney!!! She handled a civil matter for me and was able to reach a favorable settlement quickly. I highly recommend Belkis for your legal needs!

anonymous

October 10, 2014

Belkis was awesome to work with. She is very knowledgeable and responded quickly to all of my questions and concerns. She was very efficient in handling a speeding ticket for me. I highly recommend her services.

anonymous

October 10, 2014

Legal Name Change Assistance
Belkis was amazing. After my divorce I was left with the unpleasant task of changing my name back to my maiden name. Belkis facilitated the legal process by providing answers to the all of legal questions that I threw on her. Her knowledgeable answers calmed the waters for me significantly. She gave me peace of mind throughout the process. I made the right choice when I picked...

anonymous

October 9, 2014

Ms. Plata is foremost the best attorney that I have had dealing with criminal cases. I was battling a very hard case and she got me through and I have all faith in her. I highly recommend her to anyone else, I really thought that public defenders didn't care about people with cases but Ms. Plata made a believer out of me and I really appreciate everything she has done for me. I had...

Jontae Boyd

June 3, 2014

Very sharp lady. I happened to get my leg caught in a bear trap on a first offense felony 3 and couldn't afford a private attorney, however Ms. Belkis Plata stepped up to the plate and got me through this making me a believer that our justice system really works in this country. It really works; for the good individuals that makes a mistake in life 'to going after the bad and implementing the correct...

Christopher

May 16, 2012

"Excellent Attorney! Found out I had a warrant for battery that was a year old. Contacted her about my case she jumped right on it and started working before i gave her a dime. Hired her and she got my case dropped. Belkis is very professional understanding easy to contact and is always giving the best advice."

Russell R

September 27, 2016

"Best Lawyer in Duval County! My son was charged with 4 first degree felonies facing 60 years are more, Mrs Belkis Plata was his attorney and he only received 18 months. Attorney Plata fault hard using case law to back up her arguments and did not back down. I would highly recommend Attorney Blekis, I would use her again in the future if I ever need to. Thank You for everything, you did a Phenomenal job and I can't Thank you enough."

Kimberly

September 27, 2016

"Beautifully Amazing! Belkis is an outstanding attorney! She is beyond caring and attentive. She handled my husband's case very professionally and kept up with me throughout the entire process and went far and beyond to help my family during these hard times! She had some difficulties with the States Attorney and even immigration but she worked hard to make sure my husband was treated fairly and was able to have his charges reduced! I would highly recommend her office for any of your needs as she and her staff are very attentive, caring and respond as soon as possible. It id amazing to see a young beautiful Latina doing such great things in this community! Absolutely inspiring! Thank you for helping my family! We were definitely blessed to have you as our attorney! Satisfied with Attorney Plata's service."

Raven

August 25, 2016

"A few months ago I consulted attorney Belkis Plata regarding a case related to a friend of mine and eventually hired her for our case. My friend's girlfriend was accusing him of treating to harm her with a weapon because she was upset with him over an argument that had recently occurred. Attorney Plata was able to prove that the accusation was in deed false due to the evidence and the charges were dropped. Throughout the case Attorney Plata was professional and informational. If you are looking for an efficient attorney- I highly recommend hiring her."

Anonymous

July 27, 2016

"Saved my life and career! DUI DROPPED. Was arrested the day before my college graduation. Belkis got me out hours later on an ROR. When your in trouble with the law, it is extremely important to have a knowledgeable attorney represent you. Belkis is a professional attorney that takes the time to prepare the and strategy to win your case! I felt confident in Belkis as he was always prepared and organized. Thanks to Belkis I was able to get my life back! Take my recommendation into account if winning is as important to you as it was to me! I never lost my license through out the entire course of my case and this was all because represented me!"

Anonymous

July 15, 2016

"Top Notch Attorney! This group of female attorneys really know their stuff! I came to them at a very desperate time and they did everything they could to show me compassion. They tackled my case from the start with no hesitations. I was informed of everything that was going on from start to finish and never left in the dark. These ladies are fierce and will stop at nothing to win their case. I would recommend these ladies to anyone. They are truly the dynamic duo and alone are just as fierce as they are together. She was great."

Anonymous

April 21, 2016

"Best Lawyer in JAX! We hired Belkis when my husband was arrested on several very serious felony charges. Belkis is not only very knowledgeable about the law, she genuinely cares about her clients. She was patient and professional, inside the courtroom and out, in what turned out to be a very long process. She worked closely with our family and was receptive to our input. We are all extremely grateful to Belkis because our case resulted in a misdemeanor t/s. If you need a great lawyer and great firm with reasonable costs, call this lady."

Anonymous

April 11, 2016

"More than an Attorney! Belkis Plata was genuine in her interest not only in my case but me as a person and really getting to know about me which helped my case. Every call and email was responded to immediately. Belkis answered all of my questions and let me know of the multiple options I had. I couldn't be more grateful to her for her honesty, sincerity, and professionalism. Hopefully I never need a lawyer again, but I would recommend her to everyone. If I could give her more than five stars, I definitely would. She is a blessing and the best!"

Christopher

April 8, 2016

"Juvenile Misdemeanor! Ms. Plata worked diligently behind the scenes to enable the charges against my son to be dropped. She was mindful from the get go that as a minor he should not be burdened with a criminal record which would then have to expunged sometime in the future. We chose Ms. Plata because of her experience with juveniles and her common sense approach to my son's minor transgression. She responded quickly to any questions I had and kept me informed with each new development."

Alison

June 26, 2015

"A Lawyer you can trust! A Lawyer you can trust. I had a bad few years. I am a military vet who had never been in trouble. I was arrested for defending my daughter who was sexually assaulted by a family friend when she was 4. I went to court pled guilty and was sentenced to 5 years probation. I paid all my fees within two years and completed all my obligations required by the state. I finished my AA degree and earned my paramedic license. In order to continue my education and get into nursing school i had to get off state supervision. The state attorney requested i not be eligible for early termination due to, i have no idea. Another year later my probation officer advised me to get a new attorney and attempt early termination agin. Attorney Belkis Plata was recommend by a friend so i made a call. I went in for a consultation and within 2 weeks my supervision was terminated. She was unbelievably affordable and effective. I have never needed a lawyer other then the original case and wish i could have acquired Ms. Plata’s services for the original case. I never write reviews for anything, but i figure this could help someone in a similar situation."

Anthony

June 10, 2015

"AWESOME SERVICE! Ms. Plata was very knowledgeable, professional and courteous during the handling of my case. She was candid and realistic with issues surrounding my case. I always received answers to my questions in a timely manner and she kept me informed of all issues that pertained to my case. Ms. Plata was very well prepared for my court date and was able to get me the outcome I wanted. I would highly recommend Ms. Plata to anyone in need of legal counsel. There needs to be a 10 on here for Dedication!!"

Anonymous

March 4, 2015

"The best attorney! Ms. Plata is foremost the best attorney that I have had dealing with criminal cases. I was battling a very hard case and she got me through and I have all faith in her. I highly recommend her to anyone else, I really thought that public defenders didn't care about people with cases but Ms. Plata made a believer out of me and I really appreciate everything she has done for me. I had another attorney when my case first started but I am so glad and blessed that they switched me to Ms. Plata because if it wasn't for her I would of had a different outcome on my case. Ms. Plata you are the best. Thank you!"

Jontae Boyd

June 3, 2014

"Compassion and thorough! Very sharp lady. I happened to get my leg caught in a bear trap on a first offense felony 3 and couldn't afford a private attorney, however Ms. Belkis Plata stepped up to the plate and got me through this making me a believer that our justice system really works in this country. It really works; for the good individuals that makes a mistake in life 'to going after the bad and implementing the correct punishment(s). Have faith in the public defenders office...they are very good and they do work hard on your behalf. I am grateful to have had Belkis Plata in my corner. CDZ Jacksonville."

Christopher

May 16, 2012